The 38th Metro Manila Film Festival 2012 (MMFF) Awards Night and Nominees + Winners to be Announced!

The 38th Metro Manila Film Festival 2012 takes place in Meralco Theater, Ortigas City tonight, December 27, 2012 around 5:00 PM where the brightest stars are gathered to witness the annual event of recognizing the best of MMFF movies this year.


This year seemed to have a short-list for Best Actor, Best Actress and Best Picture. For example, for Best Actor category, it’s quite probable that E.R. Ejercito who portrays Aguinaldo in El Presidente will win this thing. Other names to be considered are Dingdong Dantes for One More Try, Bembol Roco in Thy Womb and the dark-horse Enchong Dee for his monstrous role in The Strangers.

angel ll

For the Best Actress category only two names are expected to have a head to head battle, Nora Aunor for the internationally acclaimed Thy Womb and Angel Locsin, netizens’ number 1 choice for her super performance in One More Try.

On the other hand Thy Womb, El Presidente and One More Try will likely headline the Best Picture nominees since box office returns are officially not considered as MMDA Chairman announces.

MMFF BEST CHILD ACTOR MIGUEL VERGARAMMFF2012 AWARDS BEST ACTOR mmff2012 awards night best picture 2012 mmff2012 awards night nora

Here’s the list of Winners of MMFF 2012


  • Best Picture: One More Try
  • 2nd Best Picture: El Presidente
  • 3rd Best Picture: Sisterakas
  • Best Actress: Nora Aunor “Thy Womb”
  • Best Actor: Dingdong Dantes “One More Try” (2nd consecutive win)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Wilma Doesn’t “Sisterakas
  • Best Supporting Actor: Cesar Montano “El Presidente
  • Best Director: Brillante Mendoza “Thy Womb
  • Best Child Performer: Miguel Vergara “One More Try
  • Best Screenplay: Anna Karenina, Jay Gazmin “One more Try
  • Best Float: El Presidente
  • Best Sound Engineering: Albert Michael Idioma “El Presidente
  • Best Theme Song: Apl de Ap & Jamir Garcia “El Presidente”
  • Best Musical Sore: Jessie Lazatin “El Presidente”
  • Best Original Story: Henry Burgos “Thy Womb”
  • Best Production Design: Thy Womb
  • Best Editing: One More Try
  • Best Make-up: Warren Munar, Benny Batoctoy & Virgina Apolinario “El Presidente
  • Best Visual Effects: Shake, Rattle and Roll 14
  • Best Cinematographer: Odyssey Flores “Thy Womb”
  • Youth Choice Award: El Presidente
  • Most Gender-Sensitive Award (Mainstream): Thy Womb
  • First FPJ Memorial Award: One More Try
  • Gatpuno Villegas Awardee: Thy Womb
  • Female Star of the Night: Nora Aunor
  • Male Star of the Night: Joseph Estrada
  • SMDC Female Celebrity of the Night: Bianca King
  • SMDC Male Celebrity of the Night: Zanjoe Marudo


  • Best Student’s Short Film Award: Pukpok (DLSU)
  • Most Gender-Sensitive Award Short Film: Maribela (FEU)
  • Special Jury Prize: “Tagad” (USC)


  • Best New Wave Full-Length Film: The Grave Bandits
  • New Wave Best Actress: Liza Dino “In Nomine Matris”
  • New Wave Best Actor: Allan Paule “Gayak”
  • New Wave Films Best Director: Tyrone Ancierto “The Grave Bandits”
  • New Wave Most Gender-Sensitive Award: In Nomine Matris
  • Special Jury Prize: Daniel Bautista from University of San Carlos
  • Special Jury Prize Award (New Wave Film Category): Quantum Films
  • Special Jury Prize Award (Full-Length Film): Ad Ignorantiam

Watch Live Streaming of MMFF 2012 via –> CLICK HERE

PHOTO CREDITED TO: James Banaag Twitter account @dearscarjames

3 thoughts on “The 38th Metro Manila Film Festival 2012 (MMFF) Awards Night and Nominees + Winners to be Announced!

  1. Ang laos ay yung hindi pinag-uusapan sa buong panig ng mundo, tulad mo sinusubaybayan mo, maski ikaw apektado kapag nora aunor ang pinag uusapan, ibig sabihin, SIKAT NG BONGGANG BONGGA PA RIN SI LA AUNOR, aminin yan ang totoo

  2. Alamin mo muna kung para saan at idinadaos ang MMFF bago ka magsalita. Laos o hindi, may karapatan makakuha ng award kung siya ay tunay na magaling.

  3. may award nga c nora aunor di naman kumita ang pelikula. AMININ NA KC LAOS NA PUMIPILIT PA kc

Share your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s